Annual Awards

Nassau County has a long history or recognizing the best players and coaches for each year. Below you can see the latest recipients and links to lists of the annual awards. You can also see reports by team.

Return to report list

John Krumenacker Award
County Player of the Year

John KrumenackerThe Nassau County Player of the Year Award is given annually to the most outstanding high school lacrosse player in Nassau County as voted by the NCLCA.

The award, first given in 1993, was changed in 1999 to honor the memory of the late John Krumenacker. An All-American in high school at Farmingdale in 1981, Krumenacker was a four-time All-American midfielder at Johns Hopkins University. He captained the 1985 Hopkins team that won the NCAA Championship, was a member of the 1986 United States World Championship team, and played for the Philadelphia Wings.

Tragically, John passed away after a brief in illness in 1998. Longtime Farmingdale High School coach Bob Hartranft described John as “not only the greatest player I have coached, but the finest human being I have met in all my years as a coach or teacher.”

2023 Cal GirardManhassetFO/M
2022 Patrick PisanoCold Spring HarborDefense
2022 Brendan StaubGarden CityDefense
2021 Aidan MulhollandManhassetMidfield
2019 Colin HartGarden CityDefense
2018 Angelo PetrakisMassapequaMidfield
2017 Matthew LicciardiCold Spring HarborMidfield
2016 Mac O'KeefeSyossetAttack
2015 Alex ConcannonSyossetAttack
2015 Tyler DunnManhassetMidfield
2014 Craig BergeMassapequaMidfield
2013 Justin GuterdingGarden CityAttack
2012 Devin DwyerGarden CityAttack
2011 Stephen JahelkaGarden CityDefense
2011 JoJo OstranderFarmingdaleDefense
2010 Brendan ManganWantaghAttack
2009 Connor EnglishManhassetAttack
2008 Jeff CohenSyossetAttack
2008 Keenan OchwatFarmingdaleDefense
2007 Dean GibbonsGarden CityAttack
2006 Adam GhitelmanCold Spring HarborGoal
2005 Max SeibaldHewlettMidfield
2004 Stephen PeyserCold Spring HarborMidfield
2003 Matt DanowskiFarmingdaleAttack
2002 Greg PeyserCold Spring HarborMidfield
2002 Patrick WalshWantaghAttack
2002 Matt ZashMassapequaMidfield
2001 Peter LeSueurGarden CityAttack
2000 Jason DonegerLynbrookAttack
2000 Matt RekowskiBethpageAttack
1999 Kevin BrennanFarmingdaleAttack
1998 Bryan WalkerHicksvilleMidfield
1997 Joseph BarilePlainview JFKMidfield
1996 A.J. HaugenBethpageMidfield
1995 Dan DenihanManhassetAttack
1994 Mike FerrucciGarden CityAttack
1993 Anthony TufanoFarmingdaleGoal



The pain of getting hit with a 90 mph shot? Nothing compared to the pain of missing it.


Banner Space Available