Annual Awards

Nassau County has a long history or recognizing the best players and coaches for each year. Below you can see the latest recipients and links to lists of the annual awards. You can also see reports by team.

Return to report list

Alan Lowe Award
Coach of the Year

Alan LoweThe Nassau County Coaching Staff of the Year Award is given annually to an outstanding coaching staff in Nassau County as voted by the NCLCA.

The award was originally named after Fran McCall, the longtime coach at Bethpage High School. McCall won 310 games and his 1983 squad advanced to the Nassau County Championship game. The award has been renamed in honor of Alan Lowe, the former coach at Manhasset High School.

Lowe was a tremendous player at Hempstead High School where he scored twelve goals in a game in 1962, a record that stood for 41 years. He was an All-American at the University of Maryland and was the co-captain of the 1974 United States lacrosse team that won the World Championship.

Lowe began his coaching career as Jack Kaley’s assistant at East Meadow and he became the head coach at Manhasset in 1974. His teams won Nassau Championships eight times in four decades, were Long Island Champions six times, and won two New York State Championships, in 1995 and 2004.

Lowe retired after the 2006 season with 511 career victories, having twice won the award that now bears his name, in 1978 and 1995.

2023 Mike HungerfordFarmingdaleCoach
2022 Dennis BonnCold Spring HarborCoach
2021 Steve FinnellGarden CityCoach
2019 Keith CromwellManhassetCoach
2018 Ryan OblojFloral ParkCoach
2017 Dennis BonnCold Spring HarborCoach
2016 Steve FinnellGarden CityCoach
2015 John CalabriaSyossetCoach
2014 Matt McFarlandLocust ValleyCoach
2013 Joe BaccarellaJerichoCoach
2012 Craig PapachBellmore JFKCoach
2011 Steve FinnellGarden CityCoach
2010 Bill CherryManhassetCoach
2009 Bill CherryManhassetCoach
2008 Steve DiPietroSouth SideCoach
2007 John CalabriaSyossetCoach
2006 Dennis BonnCold Spring HarborCoach
2005 Chris PassuelloHewlettCoach
2004 Joe BaccarellaSouth SideCoach
2003 Larry GlenzLynbrookCoach
2002 Dennis BonnCold Spring HarborCoach
2001 John CuiffoWantaghCoach
2000 Steve MollotMassapequaCoach
1999 Larry GlenzLynbrookCoach
1998 Bob HartranftFarmingdaleCoach
1997 Doc DoughertyGarden CityCoach
1996 Jim Amen JrBethpageCoach
1995 Alan LoweManhassetCoach
1994 Bill MeyerHicksvilleCoach
1993 John DetommasoMephamCoach
1992 Bob HartranftFarmingdaleCoach
1991 Larry GlenzLynbrookCoach
1990 Ken CasePort WashingtonCoach
1989 Sean MorrisseyMassapequaCoach
1988 Bob HartranftFarmingdaleCoach
1987 Walt SofsianElmontCoach
1986 Doc DoughertyGarden CityCoach
1985 Jack KaleyEast MeadowCoach
1984 Harry MohrmanFreeportCoach
1983 Bill MeyerHicksvilleCoach
1982 Sean MorrisseyDivision AveCoach
1981 Bill TierneyLevittown MemorialCoach
1980 Bob HartranftFarmingdaleCoach
1979 Bill TierneyGreat Neck SouthCoach
1978 Alan LoweManhassetCoach
1977 Jack SalernoElmontCoach
1976 Fran McCallBethpageCoach
1975 Pat OlekisakMassapequaCoach
1974 Tom PostelManhassetCoach
1973 Tom PostelManhassetCoach
1972 Bill RitchSewanhakaCoach
1971 Dick FinleyFreeportCoach
1970 Jim Amen JrPlainview JFKCoach
1969 Jack SalernoElmontCoach
1968 Al ButtlerHerricksCoach



There are guys who play lacrosse, and there are lacrosse players.

Brendan Mundorf

Banner Space Available